Eternal Flame

As Valentine’s Day looms ahead,  I feel as though my brain has started to pick up on sentimental moments. Like the time I went to Jazz Alley, I noticed an elderly couple locked tight in an embrace throughout the entire show, sometimes taking a moment to whisper something in each other’s ear. To me, nothing exemplifies romance more than an elderly couple virtually inseparable from each other. They exuded such a sense of comfort, security and timelessness together that I felt warm and happy inside. And maybe a little jealous of them.

To find someone you can be happy with for the rest of your life; that is something many people may not yet be able to fathom or desire.

2 responses to “Eternal Flame

  1. I love watching old couples that hold hands and they just automatically fall in step with one another. To still want to hold hands and just walk together after being with someone for so long is just unimaginable for me.

  2. I am ‘in love’ with the idea of spending fifty or more years with the man I love. That is so sweet, I think. My grandparents were married for 54 years and their love and life is a great inspiration to me! I also just finished reading Jane Austen’s “Persuasion” and I feel that love is a test of time that can span years, only if you are willing to let it.

Leave a Reply

